Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Morning folks.
So I was out and about last night with one of my oldest besties and raved away about my trip to Lisbon, so I thought it was about time I actually did a blog post on it. So here it is.
This trip was my first time visiting Portugual’s capital city and all I can say is what an undiscovered gem. I am so going back, three days was just not enough time to immerse myself in this wonderful city.
The trip didn’t get off to a fabulous start as I was grounded on the run way for over 3 hours due to the French air strikes (you have to love the Frenchies and there love for striking, striking is a national hobby for them!).  So once we finally arrived, not the BF and I, this trip was a mummy and daughter trip we got stuck in and started with a walk down Avenida Da Liberdade.
20130619-200811.jpg
I loved taking in all the big squares in Lisbon. My first Elevador (funicular ) ride was Elevador da Gloria. Lisbon’s second oldest Funicular did not disappoint.
20130619-201750.jpg
The trams are so quaint and save little old ladies legs and my legs from steep walks.  Once we got to the top we were rewarded with great views of Lisbon.
 
20130619-200928.jpg
Following this we went to Convento do Carmo, which is an old convent.  Mum and I settled down on the steps and enjoyed the great architecture.
20130619-200940.jpg
 20130619-200959.jpg
Since we were in the area we couldn’t resist Elevador de Santa Justa. It is an amazing neo gothic lift that will reward you with 360 degrees of the city. Tip use the Elevador to get to Convento do Carmo.
20130619-202155.jpg
I loved the fact that the city had a buzz to it.  We strolled around the district of Bairro Alto, stopping off to listen to amazing group play some fabulous street jazz whilst licking the most amazing ice cream from Santinis.  After walking Lisbon for what felt like miles we headed to a roof top bar in Bairro Alto Hotel.  This hotel bar provides the perfect spot to have a few glasses of vino or cocktails and rest your feet as the city below begins to sparkle.
20130619-201129.jpg
By the time we had a few drinks, the city had indeed began to sparkle.  On this night the revellers, the tourists, the families were all out.  Mum and I strolled around for a while but ended up going to have some din dins near our hotel.  We went to a restaurant called Sessenta.  For 22 euros we tucked into a 4 course taster.  The price was extremely reasonable and the food was reasonable.  My first day in Lisbon was phenomenal. Check in later this week for day two in Lisbon.
20130619-203154.jpg
Live, love and learn
City DEETs:
Elevador da Gloria- Funicular M-Restauradores
Convento do Carmo- M Baixa-Chiado
Bairro Alto Hotel- Parca Luis de Camoes. M Baixa-Chiado
Sessenta- M-Picoas