Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy hump day everyone!! I have lost count of how many hump days we have had this year so far, but I cannot believe it is nearly the end of Feb! Insane!  So I am super excited for the downhill climb this week, as I am looking forward to spending time with one of my closet BFFs on Saturday and having a Sunday pottering session with the BF and some friends.

So hump day means one thing LONDON GIRL.  I met this week’s London Girl in 2008 in Law School as we were in the same class.  She is a really kind, amazingly dedicated, attractive woman.  I have not ever told her this but she actually reminds me of Rachel Weisz. Hope you enjoy this weeks interview.

 

What would you do if you were Queen for the day?
I would start with breakfast in bed, having woken up at Windsor Castle, and I would request to read all of the state secrets whilst I ate. I would then catch a helicopter to Buckingham Palace (avec Daniel Craig of course). I would have lunch in a top restaurant (perhaps Claridges with a private secluded table) with my grandsons and the Duchess of Cambridge to get all of the gossip. Obviously the celebrity chef would come to meet me. I would then throw a huge afternoon tea party in the gardens at Buckingham Palace for worthy sorts, celebrities and my friends of course. In the evening I would host a state banquet for other royals, nobles and politicians, but I would get drunk with Camilla and Pippa Middleton.
How would you describe your style?
 
I would say that it is fairly classic – I like tailored cigarette trousers, skinny jeans, chunky knits in winter, lace t-shirts, peter pan collars, biker boots or loafers. Going out, I like to wear a dress – I liked the recent silhouette styles and peplums.  I really like Victoria Beckham’s designs, Mulberry and Dior (sadly all out of the prize range) but I look to them for inspiration.
20130218-120713.jpg
Are you a designer or high street girl?
Definitely high street for clothes, but I am a bit more discerning when it comes to accessories.  I try to buy classic pieces from shops like Reiss or Jaeger. I like Jack Wills, River Island, H&M and Warehouse. I also like to go to department stores where there is a mix of labels. I am also a big fan of Primark for a bargain.
Have you had any fashion splurges or bargain finds?
Splurge wise, I treated myself to a Mulberry Bayswater handbag when I qualified as a solicitor.  I have found the odd bargain in vintage shops – a Ralph Lauren cable knit sweater and a Hobbs dress.
What is your favourite clothes shop?
Tough one, I would say Fenwick for the variety.
What is the romantic thing someone has done for you?
A surprise visit on our anniversary when we were studying miles apart followed by delivery of a huge bouquet of flowers. My boyfriend bought me a surprise bracelet for Christmas (we were doing small presents) and then replaced it on Valentines day as I lost the original!
20130210-182710.jpg
What’s your favourite part of London?
I like Piccadilly and Mayfair plus the shopping streets between there and the west end.
Where or what would you recommend for a first date?
It shouldn’t be too pressurised so I would say drinks somewhere on neutral ground, and if it’s going well then you can move on to dinner. Somewhere central for a quick escape!
Where do you go to let loose with your girls?
I prefers to do dinner and drinks, as I’m not a big clubber – I recently went to the Langham for drinks which was lovely
Where have you recently gone on holiday to escape the big smoke of London?
 
I had my first holiday abroad in ages over New Year –  skiing in Val Thorens (highly recommend it) I am looking forward to a trip to Belfast to stay which friends later this year and a week in Lyme Regis. Hopefully I’ll squeeze in a sunshine break later in the year.
20130218-120718.jpg
What’s your life philosophy?
YOLO – you only live once so be open to new things and adventures plus treat others as you would yourself. I believe in karma.
Live, love and learn always.
If you missed any of the previous London Girl interviews click here to have a read with a cup of tea and a biscuit.
xoxo