Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy hump day world!!! I feel this week hump day has whizzed around ever so quickly.  I have an awful cold coming on-poor me :-(.  Anyhows I have been searching for a link to the Stylist magazine article with Donna Ida Thornton to you all.  If I am been honest I had never heard of her before reading the magazine but when I read the article I thought WOW what an amazing woman.  Her words really resonated with me and were inspiring, so much so I tweeted her to let her know and amazingly she tweeted me back.  If you get a chance to pick up a copy of the Stylist make sure you read page 37 and get inspired.  For my international readers I am desperately hunting for a link.

So that was my mini morning diversion.  So hump day means one thing- LONDON GIRL.  This week’s London girl is one of my most amazing BFF’s.  I have known today’s London Girl for 11 years.  She is amazingly kind, a great sounding board, a determined little minx and most definitely a fashionista.  Hope you enjoy the interview.

What would you do if you were Queen for the day?

Gaa… I don’t know. I guess I would want to do something noble and try and save the world, obtain world peace and all that. But I think in all reality I would just enjoy the spoils and the riches. Sad but true.

How would you describe your style?

Simple, luxurious, understated. Less is always more.

Are you a designer or high street girl?

I’m striving to be a happy medium between the two. Not by choice if I could afford Celine every season I would. I like a good mix though I think some great designer statement pieces can lift a very ordinary (and relatively cheap) outfit.

20130204-135421.jpg

Have you had any fashion splurges or bargain finds?

Many fashion splurges and not enough bargain finds. I like expensive staples so I spend on bags coats and shoes mainly. Everything else is a mix. And I do love costume jewellery – you can get so much cool stuff in markets and charity shops.

What is your favourite clothes shop?

This is tough because I am not faithful to one. Here are some I like: Zara, Dover Street Market, Acne, Topshop, H&M, Whistles, Uniglo, Urban Outfitters etc. etc.

What is the romantic thing someone has done for you?

… I guess I could list some really clichéd shit here. Don’t get me wrong, I can fantasize about grand gestures my prince charming could do for me as much as the next girl, but I actually think the everyday, ordinary gestures can sometimes feel the most romantic. Having someone listen to you, treat you well by respecting you and loving you for who you are, both the good and bad. That in its purest form has been some of the most romantic instances thus far for me.

What’s your favourite part of London?

Tough to choose. Maybe the southbank. I do love south London – it will always have a place in my heart regardless of where I end settling.

southbank

Where or what would you recommend for a first date?

River cruise down the Thames, followed by a bottle of Malbec somewhere cosy.

Where do you go to let loose with your girls?

If I am with the girls it doesn’t matter where we are!

Where have you recently gone on holiday to escape the big smoke of London?

I haven’t gone away for a while. Last holiday was in a place near Annacy in France during the summer. It was beautiful – very picturesque.

20130204-135858.jpg

What’s your life philosophy?

Work hard, play harder.

What you give is what you get so always do onto others what you would like in return.

 

Hope you all have a fabulous hump day.

Live, love and learn.

xoxo