Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy hump day folks!! Yet another hump day and yet another pound (dollar for my readers across the pond).  Well I have looked at the calendar and there are only 5 more Wednesdays left in 2012. How scary is that?!

Normal with the London Girl interviews I do a face to face interview with the individual.  Unfortunately due to logistical problems I couldn’t quite make it to meet this week’s London Girl so she asked if I was okay to send her the questions via email, I agreed and she promptly sent her responses.   This is quite fortunate as I never have a back-up London Girl. Today’s London Girl is someone I have met only a few times and know her through one of my BFFs.  She is amazingly gorgeous, intelligent and very sweet.  Here goes this week’s interview.

How has your journey to hump day gone this week?
This week definitely feels like it’s going slowly, even though work has been busy. I’ve got next week off so am counting down until Friday (which is probably why the week is going so slowly!).

What’s your favourite part of London?

I love Hampstead. There are lots of lovely shops and bars, and the views of London from the Heath are amazing. If I’m getting stressed with work and London life, there’s nothing better than a stroll on the Heath, followed by a spot of lunch and a few drinks in one of the pubs. The Hollybush is one of my favourite pubs in Hampstead and you can usually spot a celeb or two in there!
What was the last play/exhibition you saw in London?

I went to see La Boheme at the Royal Opera House. I was a bit dubious about going (thinking it had the potential to be a bit boring) but I couldn’t have been more wrong! There was a great storyline, brilliant cast and it made a nice change to do something different.

What restaurant would you recommend for a dirty Friday date night?

I love Four-o-Nine in Clapham. It’s tucked away above the Clapham North pub and the food is amazing. It’s also very romantic inside, but still feels relaxed. And, of course, there’s always the option of escaping to the pub downstairs if the date isn’t going well!

Where do you go to let loose with the girls?

A recent discovery is the Nightjar – a Cocktail Bar in Shoreditch. The entrance is hidden between two cafes and you head down a little flight of stairs into the main bar. The cocktails are delicious and they are all beautifully presented – so much so that it’s almost a shame to drink them! The cocktails are based on the idea of the prohibition era through to modern day and the war era style decor means it’s like stepping back in time.

What would you recommend a tourist do in their last 24 hours in London?

There is so much to see and do in London so that’s really difficult! I would probably recommend a walk through St James’ Park (where you get fab views of Buckingham Palace) to Trafalgar Square. Being two of London’s most famous sights, there’s always something going on.

What is your favourite item in your wardrobe?

This is even harder than the previous question! Going solely on the item I wear most, I would say my skinny diesel jeans. I love the cut (so much so that I got them in teal as well as dark blue!) and they are really comfy. They can be glammed up with a pair of heels, or made casual with a pair of shoe boots.

Have you had any recent fashion splurge or bargain find?

I find shopping in London quite stressful so my days of trawling for bargains are definitely over! However, my lovely housemate works at Ted Baker and she managed to pick me up a gorgeous canary yellow dress in their office sample sale – for £10. Definitely a bargain (although I can’t take the credit for finding it!).

Where have you recently gone on holiday to escape the big smoke of London?

I’m a bit of a country girl at heart and I try to escape to the countryside as much as I can. I went up to the Lake District with my boyfriend a few weeks ago and it was amazing. After being in London, it was bizarre to be able to see for miles from the top of a mountain yet not see a single soul. I also booked a cottage with a hot tub which definitely helped with the relaxation!

What’s your life philosophy?

Everything in life happens for a reason. Also, never  trust anyone who says “trust me”…

Weekend is nearly here folks.  Enjoy the climb downwards.

xoxo